Every Promise

This is a song that I first heard at camp and I have been thinking about it a lot. It was written by Keith Getty and Stuart Townend. I don’t agree with their music standards, but many of their lyrics are powerful. Here is Every Promise (also known as From the Breaking of the Dawn):

From the breaking of the dawn

to the setting of the sun

I will stand on every promise of Your word

Words of power, strong to save,

that will never pass away;

I will stand of every promise of Your word

For Your covenant is sure

and on this I am secure

I can stand on every promise of Your word

When I stumble and I sin, condemnation pressing in,

I will stand on every promise of Your word

You are faithful to forgive,

that in freedom I might live

So I stand on every promise of Your word

Guilt to innocence restored;

You remember sins no more

So I’ll stand on every promise of Your word

When I’m faced with anguished choice,

I will listen for Your voice

and I’ll stand on every promise of Your Word

Through this dark and troubled land,

You will guide me with Your hand

as I stand on every promise of Your Word.

And You’ve promised to complete every work begun in me.

So I’ll stand on every promise of Your word

Hope that lifts me from despair; Love that casts out every fear

as I stand on every promise of Your word.

Not forsaken, not alone

for the Comforter has come;

And I stand on every promise of Your word.

Grace sufficient, grace for me;

Grace for all who will believe.

We will stand on every promise of Your word.

Leave a Reply

