Pride and Prejudice

This is a post which I intend to update several times over the coming months. I am going to dedicate it to one of my favorite books: Pride and Prejudice. In this post I will make a list of all of the sequels I have read and tell whether or not I would recommend them to anyone. I hope that someone will find this list useful!

1. LadyLady Catherine’s Necklace by Joan Aiken

It has been several years since I read this book, but from what I recall it had a rather poor writing style. An even greater objection to it however was the total transformation of several characters. This book was totally untrue to anything that Jane Austen wrote. The plot was a little amusing, but I would not recommend this book except to the VERY bored person. I also cannot recall for sure if there was any language or inappropriate behavior, so perhaps the best thing would be to stay away.

DarcysStory2.Darcy’s Story by Janet Aylmer

This is one of my favorites so far – Pride and Prejudice told from Mr. Darcy’s point of view! In most cases the dialogue comes directly from Jane Austen. Ms. Aylmer didn’t take too many liberties with the characters, either – a fault I have found with many authors of Pride and Prejudice fan fiction. The only thing that bothered me was the author’s word choices on occasion. There was no objectionable language, I just thought that she could have picked better words. Great addition to a bookshelf!

TwoOne3. Mr. and Mrs. Fitzwilliam Darcy by Sharon Lathan

I found myself unable to read this book due to inappropriate material. I don’t know if I made it as far as the third chapter. This book is a total failure in my standards and I would never recommend it to anyone. As with many other authors, Ms. Lathan has fallen into the trap of trying to make the Darcy’s most intimate moments an entertaining read. I find this to be an even more disgusting flaw than the changing of a character’s character.

LettersFromPemberley

4. Letters from Pemberley by Jane Dawkins

This book was well-done in comparison to many others I have read. Though at times it seemed a bit simplistic and the length of the book was certainly not satisfying, I enjoyed these letters from Elizabeth to Jane. I have not been able to read the sequel, but I admit that I am glad that there is one. The first book was far too short. Though this book does not reach my list of all-time favorites, I wouldn’t have a problem with recommending it to anyone.

One response to this post.

  1. Just so you know, I bought Mr. Darcy’s Daughters at the goodwill and I DO NOT recommend it, highly inappropriate!!! I’m just glad I only spent 99 cents on it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

