In trouble again

   My homeschool book club is meeting on the 18th, and I have some apologies to make. I happen to love The Red House Mystery by A. A. Milne – even said in a previous post that some of you are “poor deprived people” because you don’t know that he wrote anything but Winnie-the-Pooh. Well, I need to apologize to you as well.

  You see, I was reading happily along when I stopped and said to myself, “This doesn’t make sense!” This is what I read:

(My apologies to BJU Press for any copyright infringement)

     Mark came in. He was generally the last. He greeted them and sat down to toast and tea. Breakfast was not his meal. The others chattered gently while he read his letters.
     “Oh, no!” said Mark suddenly.
     There was an instinctive turning of heads towards him. “I beg your pardon, Miss Norris. Sorry, Betty.”
     Miss Norris smiled her forgiveness. She often wanted tos ay it herself, particularly at rehearsals.

[Pages 12 & 13]

    I stopped after reading this and asked myself a couple of questions.

  • Do people instinctively turn their heads when someone says “Oh, no!”?
  • Is “Oh, no!” something to apologize about?

   I trust BJU Press. They are incredible! I think that I might go so far as to say that if a book is published by BJU, it won’t have any problems. No problems. Which is why I have The Red House Mystery. But I never stopped to think that perhaps BJU had edited the book from it’s original context. But now I needed to find out. Here I had refused to read books because of language, and then suggested a book… that might have language?

   Today I looked it up online and was horrified by what I came across. In searching for this one instance – in Chapter Two, people – I came across more language than I could ever have expected. A. A. Milne had a problem, people. How he EVER wrote children’s stories, I know not. So I’m apologizing now for my whole-hearted endorsement of this book. It’s a wonderful book, and I would suggest it to anyone provided that they get the BJU copy. For those of you who may be interested now, the ISBN number is: 1-57924-702-4.

   All of that said, I would appreciate your prayers. On the 18th I’m going to book club and I would ask that you pray that I’ll be able to apologize and gain back any loss of reputation that I may have.

   Thanks!

   Emily

http://www.bjupress.com/page/Home – Go check them out!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Well that’s disappointing. :/ Are you sure the language simply wasn’t a difference of cultural acceptability by time period?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erin L on July 6, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I would say not to worry a bit! You knew not what the origianl contained and are therefor not to blame.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

