Sacrificing Expectations to get Results

   Yet another case of low expectations has been spotted on the horizon! It’s sad to see what people will do in order to get “success”. Want an explanation? Here it is then!

   Our local library has a summer reading program for teens. They want teens to have motivation to read, so they offer prizes. For the last few years, the program has been easy for me, but challenging for others. Read for 30 hours and earn a free mini-golfing experience. No problem! Or… was it? I guess that the library wasn’t getting enough people to complete the program, because this year, you have to read three books in order to get the mini-golfing tickets. AND if you’ll stretch yourself far enough to read six books, you’ll get a free book and a chance to enter for a… wii system. (Which I don’t know what one is, and therefore don’t care to have one. Unless I can make money off of it. :P) Needless to say, I’m already done with the program. The six books I read were:

Darcy’s Story by Janet Aylmer
In Search of Honor by Donnalynn Hess
Light From Heaven by Christmas Carol Kauffman
Secret of the Golden Cowrie by Gloria Repp
Prisoner of Zenda by Anthony Hope
The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I plan to do some book reviews on these in the future, but we’ll see whether or not that ever comes to pass!

So, I rather strayed from my original idea there. Typical. 😛

Anyhow:

  • What things have you noticed where expectations of teens are lowered?
  • What (if anything) did you do about it?

   I’ll be back shortly! I’ll have a post about this weekend for you!

2 responses to this post.

  1. How did you like Light From Heaven? My Mom and I finally finished reading it (reading aloud together does take a lot longer than me reading silently!). I can’t say I liked it as much as some of Mrs. Kauffman’s other books. . .that is, the style and words sometimes seemed. . .too sweet, too simple to be true. (not sure I’m expressing this right!) But, since she was telling someone’s true story, maybe that’s the tone of what they related to her.

    I think my favorite of hers has to be Not Regina , although Hidden Rainbow is a very close second.

    (Sorry I didn’t answer your questions just yet; I will come back and comment more later!)

    Reply

  2. Posted by EricaJoy on June 24, 2008 at 11:43 am

    You don’t like my profile picture? I just can’t seem to get a good one… I suppose I shall just go back to the Steamboat Barn picture. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

