Another little beauty…

 

   I collect a series that Reader’s Digest puts out called “The World’s Best Reading” – they’re pretty common at the thrift store, and I’ve been eagerly adding to the collection. My most recent edition is one of my favorite – though not completely Biblical – stories. I’m so happy to have it on my shelf! So…

  • Have you read The Robe?
  • If so, did you enjoy it?

   Thanks for reading and or commenting! Have a wonderful weekend!

   Emily

5 responses to this post.

  1. No… I haven’t read it. It’s too deep for me…lol. 😛

    ~The George With No Name

    Reply

  2. I’ve read it . . .or at least part of it. I was tired when I picked it up, and I know I didn’t do it justice.

    My overall impression of it was good–the two faults I can think of is that it gives too much of a mystical quality to the robe, and that it (almost of necessity because of the setting) supplies details and dialogue of Biblical characters that we cannot of course assume to be correct.

    But, for impressing one with the life-changing power of Jesus Christ, and the struggles the early Christians went thru during times of heavy persecution, I think it is excellent. 🙂

    I got my copy (not as prettily bound as yours, though!) for fifty cents at the local library. 🙂 I’ve kept an eye out for books in the series you mentioned, but our local thrift shops don’t have many good books. 😦

    Reply

  3. Ooh! I love hardcover books like that!
    I haven’t read it, but I always appreciate a suggestion! What exactly is the storyline?

    Reply

  4. Lol… I just like teasing you. Even if nobody else knows that it’s just teasing. 🙂

    ~The George With No Name

    Reply

  5. Hi!
    I came off your sister’s blog, Erica’s blog.

    I absolutely love this book! I read it last year and just couldn’t put it down. That is so neat you got that copy. that is really spectacular! Congrats!
    Prayers and Blessings,
    Miss Amanda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

