Country kid turned city slicker…

   As all of you know by now, I spent most of my life as a country girl. We lived on forty acres of beautiful land until 2004 when Dad’s job changed and we were forced to move into the big bad city. Lady Carmen recently did a post that inspired me to write out the top ten ways to spot a country gal in the city. I hope you all enjoy!

  • She forgets to lock doors and is surprised when she finds that other people remember and she finds herself locked out.
  • She (though not for long) will forget that there are houses all around her and doesn’t remember to close the blinds.
  • She leaves things outside, not remembering that things get stolen in the city.
  • She answers the doorbell ’cause she’s not used to salesmen. [AGH!]
  • She forgets to take the trash out to the curb on Friday morning. [Living way out of town, we’d just throw trash into the back of Dad’s truck and let him take it to the dump when he was good and ready. :D]
  • When riding her bike she forgets about these things called ‘garages’ that people actually put their cars in… & you never know when someone might be backing out.
  • She can’t sleep because of traffic.
  • It’s really weird to be so close to so many people and not know them as well as you knew the people who lived a couple miles down the road. [Why is that, anyhow?]
  • Neighbors don’t just let you come over and play: they have to have a signed document from your parents that they aren’t liable for any injuries you get on the trampoline.

   It’s not as good as Lady Carmen’s, but those are the things that I thought of. And seriously, city people aren’t all bad, but I just don’t think that they’re as friendly as country people. (At least, not as friendly as the country folks I knew)

   Well, I need to get going. I have some things that need my attention. I hope you enjoyed!

  

P.S. I’m glad ya’ll like the new set-up! I actually forgot that I changed it since I do most of my stuff from my dashboard. 😀

P.S.2 Does anyone know if there’s a way that I can attatch my signature to every post without having to go and get the HTML over again? Thanks!

P.S.3 The time is messed up on this thing, so I need to fix that. I’m really not posting late at night or on Sundays. 😀

P.S.4 JoAnna, you’re right! We got mom and iPod for Mother’s Day because she wants to listen to sermons while she’s at the gym. Good guess!

5 responses to this post.

  1. I forgot to reply to one of your previous comments…

    I spelled his name ‘B-r-y-a-n’ because that’s how Katie spelled it… but then, she might be wrong, too…

    Hehe… I’ve done the door thing…. I hate always locking them…

    ~The George With No Name

    Reply

  2. Oh Miss Emily! Yours is just as good!

    I like the last one. 😀 Sadly it’s true. I have the feeling I won’t be able to sleep at night because it will be so quiet! But I think I’ll be happily used to it soon (and happily used to actually seeing the stars at night). I’ve basically tuned out the noise of the traffic, but sometimes I just stop and listen thinking, “Wow, there really is a constant hum of white noise ALL the time.”

    Have a wonderful weekend and God bless!

    P.S. What a nice idea for your mother!

    Reply

  3. Awww I’m tickled I guessed right! 😀 My Mom would probably love an Ipod for that use. . .except she doesn’t like headphones in any form (even earbuds!). So far her furthest modernization is that she listens to sermons with a cd player with built-in speakers.

    I’m a country gal at heart, but I don’t exactly live in the country. 3/4 of an acre set in the midst of subdivisions and on a busy road doesn’t quite qualify. . .but I do my best to make it as “countryish” as it can be. 😀 I can’t stop the car noises I hear all day though! Someday, if God grants it, I’d love to live on a lot more land, with nothing but God’s designed noises around! (that does include people noises, like a baby’s cry, but not automobiles!). 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by ericajoy93 on May 14, 2008 at 4:14 am

    😀 I now have a picture with my comments. 😀 How cool is that?

    Reply

  5. Hey Emily,

    I am not sure about the signature question. If you want to change the time zone, click on settings. At the bottom of the page you see a drop-down box that says UTC. Click there and you see -1, -2, etc. For example, if you live in the Eastern Time Zone (US) you would select -4 (4 hours behind UTC). Hope that helps. Ask me if you have any more questions.

    I think your list is great. We temporarily moved to the city about a year ago. I think taking out the trash cans on the right days was the hardest thing to get used to. But on the other hand, high-speed internet was so much nicer than this slooow dial-up I’m using now (out in the country).

    Enjoyed your blog!
    Erik

    Reply

Leave a Reply

