Hard Thing Number One: Speech

   A few weeks ago I asked a few of my family members what they would consider to be my worst fault. I was sure that – after much careful meditation – I knew what each family member would say. I was wrong. REALLY wrong. And the thing that surprised me? There were no complaints about my actions! It turns out that my family’s biggest problem with me is my speech. Either my condescending tone (WHAT?) or… my choice of words. I don’t know how much this comes across to those of you who read my blog, but I like big words. I read the dictionary to get them. Lo and behold, my family doesn’t like asking me for definitions! (Why didn’t I think of that myself?)

   The result of this is what I’ll call “Hard Thing Number One”. I have a ton of hard things, but I’ll only share some on here. I’ll also do follow-ups on myself. [Now that is scary, folks!] So… here are my goals:

  • To minimize my usage of extreme vocabulary. [Okay, okay… starting now]
  • To practise humility of speech – especially towards my younger siblings

   Please pray for me -and leave comments!

  P. S. Sorry, I didn’t mean to lie in my last post, but I edited this down so that I didn’t have quite as much to say. Stop by soon — I’ll be posting about what all is happening around here! And THAT post will be long!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. 🙂 I like big words too–or more accurately, I usually use them and don’t notice that it’s out of the ordinary. 🙂 In my case, it’s not the dictionary’s influence, it’s the result of reading a LOT (especially a lot of old works!) and being taught by my Mom! (Now she really does love the dictionary!) 😀

    But, it is important that we not give offense by our words or speech. As great as striving for excellent communication is, remembering that the gospel is best preached “not in superiority of speech” is more important. That touches on the “tone” of speech that you mentioned.

    My hard thing would be. . .punctuality/dependability. As you all too well know, I can say I’ll be doing something (like writing a letter *cough*) and yet not get it done on time. I want Mom not to have to remind me to do something she requested, and I want others to be able to count on me as a lady of my word!

    Reply

  2. DO HARD THINGS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

